The 3rd Asian Privacy Scholars Network Conference

Date: July 8-9, 2013 (Monday – Tuesday)

Venue: 11/F., Cheng Yu Tung Tower, Centennial Campus, HKU

The Law and Technology Centre of the Faculty of LawThe University of Hong Kong, has the pleasure to host the 3rd Asian Privacy Scholars Network Conference.

Theme: Privacy Protection in Ubiquitous Network Societies In Asia

Registration Fee (non-refundable):
USD 255 / HKD 2040 (Registration on or before 31 March 2013)
USD 340 / HKD 2720 (Registration after 31 March 2013 and before 15 May 2013)
USD 65 / HKD 520 Full-time student (Copy of student card must be provided) / HKU staff (Copy of HKU staff card must be provided)

The 2-Day Conference will be a gathering of local and international experts of privacy to study the areas of personal data protection in Asia. The theme of this year focuses on challenges and reforms of privacy regimes in Asia in an emerging ubiquitous network society where information is provided to individuals regardless of their location. With the rapid development of Internet and Communication Technologies in recent years, especially that of broadband and mobile Internet, Asian countries have faced and experienced a world of “ever present” communications enabled by interconnected devices. The ubiquitous networking has given rise to an array of unprecedented problems for privacy protection, such as social media surveillance, location privacy, cloud computing and personal data mining. The conference will discuss how Asian countries address these problems through legal and regulatory reform. It will also discuss other issues on surveillance and privacy to the common concerns of the participators. A special panel to discuss the latest legal challenges to personal data protection in Greater China will be held on Day 1.

Keynote speakers:
Mr. Allan Chiang, the Privacy Commissioner of Hong Kong,
Justice Dennis TC Tang of the Constitutional Court of Republic of China

Sponsors: Privacy International and International Development Research Centre (IDRC), Canada.